Concentration Jump Start

  1. Describe your concentration in 1 to 2 sentences, I will explore contrast through portraiture using texture, shadows and black and white. I will utilize patterns to reflect the inner emotions of the subject.
  2. Describe what visual/design problems or questions you will solve in your work. I will work to utilize contrast effectively so that I can emphasize not only the texture of the pattern but the the features of the model as well. There are a variety of problems that I will likely run in to throughout the course of my concentration. If I decide to use a projector to create some of my shadows, finding away to get rid of the pixelization of the texture will certainly be one of issues that I will run into. Also I will run into the issue of finding enough models to shoot with.
  3. Post links to at least four examples of work similar to what you are proposing.

This photo is similar to what I am doing becuase a very similar approach was taken to taking this shot to how I will take my photos. It is a natural light shot with what looks like a wicker material to make the shadows, I shot that I hope to capture with a wicker chair I have.

I want to pursue a picture where I use a patterned doily to create a patterned shadow on someone. I will liely bump up the contrast a little like they look like they did in this photo.

I want to take one textured shadow portrait where the hand is used as the shadow. It is simple, yet can easily be done wrong to look too childish so I beleive this photo will be one of my hardest to master.

I want to take a shot where there is a simple burst of light on top of an all black face. In order to have a uniform backgrond like the shot above, I might have to make an artificial light in the studio.

5. List any resources you might need to help with your concentration work

I will likely need use of the studio at some point in time during the semester. I don’t think there is any special equipment that I will need, likely just creative approches to controling the shape of the light in the studio. There are some tutorials that I will watch before individuval shoots especially from the photoshop point of view.

Leave a comment