Final Breadth

 

“The Rock”

I took this photo because I have always been attracted to the naturally smooth and strong lines of skull mounts. This picture demonstrates my ability to manipulate light and use shadows to emphasize certain components of my photo. This photo features strong figure/ground relationship, emphasis, and balance. 10″ x 4.167″ Photography

 

“The Isle”

I selected this picture for evaluation because it demonstrates my ability as a landscape photographer. This picture features strong figure/ground and balance. The gazebo has a strong contrasting relationship with the background. There is a balance between the sky and the ground that is level and soothing. 10″ x 5.696″ Photography

 

“Atlantic”

I used this photo for my breadth portfolio because, in addition to demonstrating my strength of taking landscapes, it also features my ability to use colors well. This picture features strong figure/ground and balance. This picture features rhythm and balance. There is a rhythm amongst the clouds and balance between the water, orange sky, and blue sky/clouds. 10″x 6.017″ Photography

 

“Sunset Ripple”

I took this photo because it demonstrates my abilities in non-traditional editing that can’t be seen in other photos. I edited this photo my editing all the pictures in Lightroom using the exact same method and then took a sliver of all 20 pictures in photoshop and added them all to one picture. This photo features strong unity/variety, balance, and repetition. 10″ x 6.667″ Photography

 

“Summer Refreshment”

I took this picture because I wanted to create a photo that listed a physical response from viewers. When I see this picture, I immediately become thirsty. I selected this photo for evaluation because I think that demonstrates my ability to frame natural still lifes and use color to my advantage. This photo features strong unity/variety, rhythm, and repetition. 10″ x 6.722″ Photography

 

“Slumber”

I selected this image for evaluation because I think it captures my ability to naturally frame photos and effectively take a black and white photography. This photo features strong balance and figure/ground relationship. The women are balanced with the shape of the tree, and she has a clear place in the photo relative to the background. 7.572″ x 10″ Photography

 

“Duality”

I picked this picture for evaluation because it portrays my ability to use studio lighting effectively as well as take a picture that has a clear message behind it. This photo features strong balance, contrast and unity/variety. The balance of the two figures allows the contrasting attributes to be noticed as well as the unity to be seen as well. 10x 5.156 Photography

 

“Joshua Tree”

I chose this photo for evaluation because I think it demonstrates my ability edit the color of a portrait to change the mood as well as my talent for utilizing the natural light to my best advantage. This photo features strong proportion/scale as the size of the model is accurately compared to the size of the tree. 10″ x 5.156″ Photography.

 

“Morning Thunder”

I took this photo because I wanted to find away to bring a small model plane to life and make it seem that the picture could have been snapped of an actual World War One aircraft. I choose this picture because I want to utilize shadows to emphasize the shapes of the plane. This photo features strong proportion/scale and emphasis. 10″ x 4.167″ Photography

“Slinky”

I chose this photo for evaluation because it represents a different part of my photography skill set. This is the only photo in which I take advantage of light to create the subject of the photo myself. This picture features strong rhythm and emphasis. As I emphasized the slinky shape, there is a rhythm amongst the coils. 10″ x 6.2″ Photography  

 

“Antique Novel”

I picked the picture for evaluation because it demonstrates my ability to focus on the details of an image and give a photo some character through editing. This picture features strong rhythm and emphasis. There is a rhythm among the lines of text and an obvious emphasis on a certain component of the book. 10″ x 7.271″ Photography

 

“Trust the Process”

I took this photo because I wanted to create an image that had crisp lines and featured balance that was visually soothing. This picture features strong balance, unity/variety, repetition, and rhythm. The repeating element of the cup creates a sense of rhythm yet there is still that variation of the image to keep the photo interesting. 10″ x 4.742″ Photography

 

Leave a comment